

PUBLIC MINUTES

GOVERNANCE AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE

Thursday, December 12, 2024, 9:30 a.m. Council Chamber, City Hall

- PRESENT: Deputy Mayor R. Donauer, Chair Mayor C. Block Councillor T. Davies Councillor B. Dubois Councillor S. Ford Councillor Z. Jeffries Councillor H. Kelleher Councillor K. MacDonald Councillor J. Parker Councillor R. Pearce Councillor S. Timon
- ALSO PRESENT: City Manager J. Jorgenson City Solicitor C. Yelland City Clerk A. Tittemore Deputy City Clerk S. Bryant

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order on Treaty 6 Territory and the Traditional Homeland of the Métis People and confirmed roll call.

2. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

Moved By: Councillor Timon

- 1. That 2025 Appointments 33rd Street Business Improvement District be added under In Camera Session as Item 13.2.5.5;
- 2. That 2025 Appointments Meewasin Valley Authority Appeals Board be added under In Camera Session as Item 13.2.5.6; and
- 3. That the agenda be confirmed as amended.

In Favour (11): Councillor Donauer, Mayor Block, Councillor Davies, Councillor Dubois, Councillor Ford, Councillor Jeffries, Councillor Kelleher, Councillor MacDonald, Councillor Parker, Councillor Pearce, and Councillor Timon

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

4. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Moved By: Councillor Dubois

That the minutes of meeting of the Governance and Priorities Committee dated November 26, 2024 be adopted.

In Favour (11): Councillor Donauer, Mayor Block, Councillor Davies, Councillor Dubois, Councillor Ford, Councillor Jeffries, Councillor Kelleher, Councillor MacDonald, Councillor Parker, Councillor Pearce, and Councillor Timon

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

6. ADMINISTRATIVE AND LEGISLATIVE REPORTS

- 6.1 Decision Reports
- 6.2 Approval Reports
- 6.3 Information Reports
- 7. MOTIONS (notice previously given)
- 8. URGENT BUSINESS
- 9. GIVING NOTICE
- 10. VERBAL UPDATES
 - 10.1 Council Members Her Worship the Mayor, FCM/SUMA, Boards, Committees and Commissions
 - **10.2** Administration

11. REQUESTS TO SPEAK (new matters)

12. COMMUNICATIONS (requiring the direction of the Committee)

13. IN CAMERA SESSION

Moved By: Councillor Kelleher

That the Committee move In Camera to consider the following items.

In Favour (11): Councillor Donauer, Mayor Block, Councillor Davies, Councillor Dubois, Councillor Ford, Councillor Jeffries, Councillor Kelleher, Councillor MacDonald, Councillor Parker, Councillor Pearce, and Councillor Timon

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The public portion of the meeting recessed at 9:35 a.m.

13.1 Verbal Updates

13.1.1 Council Members - Her Worship the Mayor; FCM/SUMA; Boards, Committees & Commissions; Personnel Subcommittee (if required)

13.1.2 Administration

13.1.2.1 City Manager Updates

[In Camera - Sections 13, 14, 15(1), 16(1), 17, 18(1), 19 and 20 LAFOIP]

13.2 Appointments - Boards, Commissions and Committees [CK 225-4-3]

In Camera - Consultations/Deliberations; Personal Information - Sections 16(1)(c) and (d) and 28 of LAFOIP]

13.2.1 Advisory Committees

13.2.1.1	2025 Appointments - Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee (DEIAC)
13.2.1.2	2025 Appointments - Municipal Heritage Advisory Committee (MHAC)
13.2.1.3	2025 Appointments - Public Art Advisory Committee (PAAC)
13.2.1.4	2025 Appointments - Saskatoon Accessibility Advisory Committee (SAAC)

13.2.1.5 2025 Appointments - Saskatoon Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC)

13.2.2 Other Civic Boards, Committees and Commissions

- 13.2.2.1 2025 Appointments Albert Community Centre Management Committee
- 13.2.2.2 2025 Appointments Council Representative -Civic Naming Committee
- 13.2.2.3 2025 Appointments Downtown Event and Entertainment District Advisory Group (DEED)
- 13.2.2.4 2025 Appointments Marr Residence Management Board
- 13.2.2.5 2025 Appointments Municipal Planning Commission (MPC)
- 13.2.2.6 2025 Appointments Council Representative -P4G - Saskatoon Norther Partnership for Growth District Planning Commission (P4G - DPC)
- 13.2.2.7 2025 Appointments Social Services Subcommittee - Assistance to Community Groups -Cash Grants Program (SSS)

13.2.3 Statutory Boards and Controlled Corporations

- 13.2.3.1 2025 Appointments Board of Police Commissioners
- 13.2.3.2 2025 Appointments The Art Gallery of Saskatchewan Inc. Board of Directors (Remai Modern) and Saskatoon Gallery and Conservatory Corporation Board of Trustees
- 13.2.3.3 2025 Appointments Citizen Representatives Saskatchewan Place Association Inc. Board of Directors (Sasktel Centre)
- 13.2.4 Appeal Board
 - 13.2.4.1 2025 Appointments Board of Revision (BOR)

- 13.2.4.2 2025 Appointments Development Appeals Board (DAB)
- 13.2.4.3 2025 Appointments Saskatoon Appeal Board (SAB)

13.2.5 External Boards

- 13.2.5.1 2025 Appointments Broadway Business Improvement District
- 13.2.5.2 2025 Appointments Downtown Business Improvement District
- 13.2.5.3 2025 Appointments Sutherland Business Improvement District
- 13.2.5.4 2025 Appointments Partners for the Saskatchewan River Basin
- 13.2.5.5 2025 Appointments 33rd Street Business Improvement District
- 13.2.5.6 2025 Appointments Meewasin Valley Authority Appeals Board

14. RISE AND REPORT

The Committee convened *In Camera* at 9:40 a.m. The following were in attendance as noted:

- All Committee members (Councillor Davies virtual)
- City Manager Jorgenson
- City Solicitor Yelland
- City Clerk Tittemore
- Deputy City Clerk Bryant

The Committee moved to rise and report. The *In Camera* portion of the meeting recessed at 9:51 a.m.

Committee reconvened publicly, and reported as follows:

13.2 Appointments - Boards, Commissions and Committees [CK 225-4-3]

In Camera - Consultations/Deliberations; Personal Information - Sections 16(1)(c) and (d) and 28 of LAFOIP]

Moved By: Councillor Dubois

That the recommended appointments to Boards, Commissions and Committees and any further direction, as noted by the City Clerk and reports, be reported to the December 18, 2024 Regular Business meeting.

In Favour (11): Councillor Donauer, Mayor Block, Councillor Davies, Councillor Dubois, Councillor Ford, Councillor Jeffries, Councillor Kelleher, Councillor MacDonald, Councillor Parker, Councillor Pearce, and Councillor Timon

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

15. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Deputy Mayor R. Donauer

City Clerk A. Tittemore