

P4G Planning District Agreement Joint Councils Public Hearing September 24, 2020

Proposed P4G Planning District Agreement

PURPOSE

To adopt, by bylaw, the P4G Planning District Agreement by the affiliated municipalities of the Saskatoon North Partnership for Growth (P4G) Planning District.

BACKGROUND

In the fall of 2017, the municipal councils of the P4G Planning District - R.M. of Corman Park, City of Martensville, Town of Osler, City of Martensville, and City of Warman (Affiliated Municipalities) – endorsed the P4G Regional Plan, Regional Servicing Strategy, and Regional Governance and Implementation Strategy. Shortly thereafter the Regional Oversight Committee (ROC) and Planning and Administration Committee (PAC) were tasked with taking the necessary steps to establish a P4G Planning District based on the endorsed documents. The establishment of a planning district requires approval of a Planning District Agreement and District Official Community Plan by the affiliated municipalities; and a District Zoning Bylaw approved by each municipality with lands within the planning district.

At its meeting of August 26, 2020, the ROC Executive Committee, as delegated by the ROC, endorsed the proposed P4G Planning District Agreement and recommended its approval by the councils of the Affiliated Municipalities.

DISCUSSION

Where a planning district is proposed by two or more municipalities, *The Planning and Development Act, 2007* (the Act) requires that an agreement between the affiliated municipalities be adopted by bylaw. The P4G Planning District Agreement addresses the following matters:

- 1. Planning District Established The agreement formally establishes the planning district, the naming of the district "The Saskatoon North Partnership for Growth (P4G) Planning District" (the "P4G Planning District"), and the lands that comprise the district.
- 2. District Planning Commission (DPC) A District Planning Commission will be created to provide advice to the councils of the Affiliated Municipalities on proposed land use and development within the District. The DPC will consist of 13 members two members appointed by the Council of each municipality, one of whom must be a Council member, and three public members appointed jointly by the councils of the Affiliated Municipalities. The agreement outlines other DPC matters such as terms of members, remuneration, chair and vice chair appointments, etc.

- 3. District Membership The P4G partnership may be expanded to include First Nations and other municipalities. Representatives from First Nations within the Planning District may also be appointed to the DPC.
- 4. DPC Funding The agreement outlines the funding of the DPC and the allocation of contributions from each Affiliated Municipality.
- 5. Dispute Resolution The agreement outlines a number of escalating steps in a dispute resolution process. The final step in the process is a request to the Saskatchewan Municipal Board for mediation or binding arbitration.
- 6. Application Fees and Processes The P4G Planning District will be administered by Corman Park on behalf of the Affiliated Municipalities. The RM of Corman Park will collect application fees and other costs on behalf of the Affiliated Municipalities.
- 7. Corman Park P4G District Official Community Plan (OCP) amendments Corman Park will have the ability to make certain amendments to the District Land Use Map without going through the formal land use amendment process when conditions outlined in the agreement have been met.
- 8. Regional Alignment Statements The Affiliated Municipalities shall prepare and submit annual statements to the DPC demonstrating their municipal OCPs and related bylaws, policies and procedures align with the P4G District OCP.
- 9. Other Matters Termination and Dissolution, Boundary Alteration, Amending the Agreement, etc.

ATTACHMENT

1. P4G Planning District Agreement