From:

Darren D. Gilchrist <

Sent:

Thursday, January 2, 2020 3:52 PM

To:

Web E-mail - City Clerks

Cc:

'Charlene Young'

Subject:

Membership of the Accessibility Committee

JAN 0 2 2020 CITY CLERK'S OFFICE SASKATOON

Accessibility Committee City of Saskatoon

On behalf of the Saskatoon chapter of Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC Saskatoon), I would like to express our appreciation that the Accessibility Committee has decided to bring in representatives from several non-profit organizations for the disabled. By bringing these organizations onto the committee, the city will gain valuable insight and knowledge for the perspective of these service providers.

Although we understand and appreciate the inclusion of service providers, we believe they cannot provide the complete story on barriers and challenges faced by the disabled. Because service providers generally are predominantly staffed and managed by non-disabled people, we feel they simply do not have the life experiences to fully appreciate and understand these barriers and challenges. They simply lack the means to express the needs and concerns of disabled people in a comprehensive and meaningful manner.

To create a more comprehensive and meaningful story on the barriers and challenges faced by the disabled, AEBC Saskatoon believes that the committee needs to include non-profit organizations of the disabled. Because these consumer groups are organized and driven by disabled people, their members will be persons who experience these barriers and challenges throughout their day. We think they will enhance the work of the Accessibility Committee through the wisdom and knowledge gained from their life experiences. Therefore, we would like to propose that the Accessibility Committee include representatives from consumer groups, similar to AEBC Saskatoon and Barrier Free Saskatchewan, who will be full participants at an equal level as the service providers.

AEBC Saskatoon is looking forward to working with the City of Saskatoon, Accessibility Committee, and other consumer groups to adopt and implement this proposal. Remember "nothing for us without us".

Thank you.

Darren D. Gilchrist President AEBC Saskatoon

Cc:

Charlene Young
Vice President/Secretary
AEBC Saskatoon